Pivotal Moments by Trinity Hanrahan

IMG_20160226_083659Title: Pivotal Moments
Author: Trinity Hanrahan
Series: In Time #1
Genre: Contemporary/Young Adult/Romance
Publisher: Limited Publishing
Publication: January 19th 2016
Pages: 404

I received an eARC from the publisher through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

2 sterren

A senior in high school, introvert Aislinn Munroe is satisfied living unnoticed… Aislinn is doing the normal post-high school preparations to get into college. She’s getting ready for a life beyond senior year, and wonders where she’ll fit in to the world once she’s officially an adult. Though her curves are to kill for, she’s also smart and funny. However, she isn’t at all popular, which is just fine with her.

Aislinn’s introverted ways are about to be put to the test…Content with hiding from the limelight, Aislinn doesn’t get bullied like so many other shy kids do—that is, as long as she keeps to herself. But is she really living the life she’s meant to? Or are there unforeseen adventures waiting to shake up her life in the near future?

When her brother comes home from college, he brings an unexpected houseguest…Teagan Aldridge is a reformed party animal, ladies’ man, and bad boy. He’s the last person Aislinn thought would ever show her attention. But when Aislinn and Teagan become unlikely friends, he brings out a side of herself she never knew existed. She already knows she’s special, but sexy and adventurous? That’s a first.

Are their personalities too far apart, or will opposites attract, making them an unusual, but influential pair? When their vast differences collide, Aislinn is led to some unexpected…


I requested this book on Netgalley because it’s a contemporary read and I LOVE contemporaries. They usually captivate me, but this is one I really don’t like.

First of all, the writing style is kind of childish. This is a story from Wattpad and I can definitely see why, the writing style isn’t that developed, this makes it annoying to read right from the start. As a reader, I just had the feeling that I was regarded as a child in some ways.

Also, I was so annoyed by the male protoganist, Teagan. He couldn’t stop saying ‘baby’, ‘babe’, ‘honey’ and ‘sweetheart’ to Aislinn. After seriously three times I got fed up with it. I hate the words ‘baby’ and ‘babe’ and it was very unoriginal.

In addition, the relationship between Aislinn and Teagan is really unrealistic. They met each other one day and several moments later they were deeply in love. This phenomenon is called instalove but I’m not a big fan of it. Everything is put in such a high speed while this would have never happened in real life.

It is also very bugging me that Aislinn is so uncertain. I understand that you are insecure, but the way Aislinn is, really gets on my nerves. And I must say, she can be a real pain in the ass (and a first class bitch). Teagan has to be so deeply in love (well we all know that love makes blind) because if I’d been him already would have left her.

Fortunately, Pivotal Moments hasn’t changed my look on contemporary, but now I’m afraid to pick up the wrong contemporaries. Conclusion: it was just a stupid book. I give Pivotal Moments two stars.

2 thoughts on “Pivotal Moments by Trinity Hanrahan

  1. […] That was Pivotal Moments by Trinity Hanrahan. This is a contemporary read and I expected more form the book than what I actually experienced. It literally is the worst book I’ve read so far in this year, and I just can’t put my finger on it. It was hard for me to read it (I always want to finish a book, eventhough I’d rather DNR it). Read my review here. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

