Book Struggle Sunday: Lending Books

WhatsApp-Image-20160717After I told my friend Melissa about my discussion post (The Never Ending Battle of Paperbacks vs Hardcovers), Melissa came with the idea to do another collab. We love working together (Story Sound Saturday), so the idea was to also do a post on Sunday! The longer we were discussing the post, the more ideas we came up with and the more excited we got! We want to make an interactive post and that you, readers, join is in our ‘discussions/rants’ on the subjects that we post every Sunday from now on. This will be book related (book struggles), but also real life struggles. We come up with a thesis, write our opinion, ask your opinion in the comments and we hope we can all discuss about it.

This way, you get more insights and perhaps we will think more about certain subjects so that you come across new discoveries. In addition, the interactive portion seemed just super fun. Connecting with other readers and talk about books and more .. We are wondering what you’re going to think of it!


CLICK HERE TO READ MELISSA’S STRUGGLE POST 


This week’s subject:

LENDING BOOKS


Booklover friends and ordinary friends
bba6c4f247914212759b38a67d78fd7fAnother struggle that I’m sure off that we’ve all been through. Lending books. You’ve read a great, awesome, super amazing book and you recommend it to your booklover friends, or just your friends. And the difference between my booklover friends and just my oridinary friends is the funny side to this dilemma; if I recommend books to my booklover friends, I’m sure that they won’t lend my books, but just wait for a time to buy the books themselves. So I won’t be stuck lending my dear books to someone else. It isn’t that I don’t trust my friends with my books, but I’d rather keep my books save in my own bookshelf.

Damaging
And that brings me to why I sometimes don’t want to lend my books, because most time they get damaged (and I’ve been there, MANY times) I know a lot of people don’t care if a book is damaged, but it’s more the idea that you’re careful with your books, and another kinda ruines them. And don’t be scared guys, I’m not that a perfectionist, because I’ve also got a lot of books that I’ve damaged myself. Sure, in the beginning I’m sad and dissapointed in myself but after a while I think, what the heck? Why you’re upset Wendy? A book is a book and it’s just really easy to damage.

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor lending books gif

The real dilemma
But the real dilemma is; I want to raise awareness of this awesome book, but I’d rather don’t want to lend it.. Then what are you going to choose? Well, let me tell you. I’d rather give someone the awesome opportunity to read an awesome book, than that I have to be a homewrecker and don’t give someone the chance to read it just because I’m scared it could potentially get damaged.

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor lending books gif

Enough with the damaging..
Because that’s not the only reason I don’t want to lend books. I hear you thinking – can there be another reason? Well yes. It also happened to me a lot that someone wanted to lend my book and I gave it to them, but months and months after that they haven’t even read the book yet. It isn’t that I get mad, but I sure get a little irritated. If you wanted to read the book, why didn’t you started right away? I know I sound like a bitch right now but that’s really my opinion about it.

It shouldn’t be always about the negative side..
Epic-Reads-Can-You-Borrow-My-Book-470.jpgBecause it can be possitive too. Example: I’ve got two cousins, one is fifteen (Romy) and the other is eleven (Noa). Romy likes books, but she isn’t that into it. Noa is the COMPLETE opposite, because she can devour books like no other. So, Romy really wanted to read The Selection because it seemed fun to her, so I lent her my whole series collection. It took her a while, but now she only has to read The Crown and The Prince and The Lifeguard. The other day Noa was really bored so Romy said: You should read The Selection, so Noa did. And I was flabbergasted – mindblown guys, because my cousin of ELEVEN years old read the WHOLE SERIES in only one week. ONE WEEK! I was so impressed and at the same time so satisfied because she actually read my books, and the fact that she did it in just one week made me even happier. And that’s what I meant in the other paragraph: if you really want to read a book, you should read it. And not wait sereval months to pass by.


So I know, this was a big and totally one-sided opinion, but it’s really how I think about it! I really want to hear your thoughts, so leave them in the comments.

Leave a Reply

