The Never Ending Battle of Paperbacks vs Hardcovers

Last week I decided I need some new books. Sometimes you just have to. While I was choosing them, it was hard for me to decide if I should buy the paperback or the hardcover. But why is that so hard? Why do we always go for paperbacks or why do we always go for the hardcovers?


Hardcovers are just prettier
I’m probably just the same as you guys, I do like hardcovers better than paperbacks. But why? When you have a hardcover standing on your bookshelf, it just really looks like a book. I know that it sounds crazy, but it really does. Yeah, a book is a book but it’s just different. It has a different build and figure. And of course, the thing we all love the most about a hardcover is the dust jacket. And that’s kind of weird actually, why does a dust jacket make a book immediately prettier? I don’t know either.

But paperbacks are cheapier
That is a really big struggle, indeed. We all love books a lot and we all want to have all our books as a physical copy, but unfortunately, my bank account wouldn’t allow that. So we have to choose: two paperbacks for €15 or one hardcover for €15? Because yes, the thing is that hardcovers are more expensive. I totally understand why they’re more expensive; the pages are thicker and so is the cover, but why do they bully us by making them so expensive? I want the hardcovers guys, all of them! Suprisingly, I’m the one that always goes for the paperbacks. I just prefer more books over a hardcover – don’t judge me! 😉

Hardcovers are better while reading
Okay yeah, hardcovers can also be pretty damn annoying while reading, but usually I prefer them over paperbacks. The thing is, when you read a hardcover it’s most likely it doesn’t fold back. While reading a paperback, you really have to hold it steady, because otherwise you lose the page you were reading. Has that happened before to you guys? Oh the struggle.

Paperbacks are more likely to get damaged
So, you’re on your way to your work, friends, or where ever you want to go and you want to bring a book. I know ebooks are the most likely to bring along with you in the train or whatever, but that’s not what were talking about here. Because sometimes, you have the paperback and don’t have the ebook and you just HAVE to continue reading. If you do that, yes, a paperback is more likely to get damaged. And guys, really, it has happened a lot to me. I tried to be so careful but nope… the corners still got creased.

Hardcovers are the first to be released
Or there has to be an exception, but normally hardovers are the first to be released. Example: my most anticipated book of 2016, The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson was released on May 3th. But that was the hardcover! Two days later the paperback would be released. Okay, two days, I don’t bitch about that, but remember when I tweeted Stephanie Perkins and she said that the paperback of Summer Days and Summer Nights is released a year after the hardcover? A YEAR? WHY WOULD YOU DO THAT DO US? Okay, so if I wouldn’t have My True Love Gave To Me in paperback, I would definitely buy the hardcover (why wait a year?) but I do have the paperback and I want them to match. Don’t worry, I bought the hardcover of Summer Days and Summer Nights last week, but I’m a perfectionist and really want to have My True Love Gave To Me in hardcover. Only, it does cost me some money. So yeah, it’s annoying paperbacks aren’t released earlier or at the same time.

And last but not least, paperbacks are more likely to leave some reading traces
Which is a pity, really. You have to be very careful with paperbacks if you don’t want to have some creases in the spine. Hardcovers can be also a bitch sometimes, it happened to me once that the hardcover spine released form the actual spine and it was sad to have a book screwed up like that. Luckily, the book is still intact, but it’s just unfortunate.

In the end I love hardcovers more if I have to pick them for their beauty or their convenience, but I’m the one that always goes for paperbacks. I love that they’re cheaper so that I get to buy more books instead of less.

Sorry for my discourse, but I really had to get my feels out. What do you think about it? Do you prefer paperbacks or hardcovers?

 

7 thoughts on “The Never Ending Battle of Paperbacks vs Hardcovers

  1. Nice article!
    I’m kinda cheap, so I always buy paperbacks. Besides, I see books as objects you “consume” once and then put away, after which they just clutter up your space. Sooo… I don’t really think about it that much, I guess. But I do like to have books that I really love.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love buying hardbacks and I do it for books I know I will read over and over again. But you’re right, why on earth does the paperback have to take so long to release? It’s just bloody annoying.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So recognizable!
    I have the same problem, first I always tend to go with the hardbacks, but once I look at the price… I agree with you and I prefer more books over one hardcover as well!
    xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

