It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor it ends with usTitle: It Ends With Us
Author: Colleen Hoover
Genre: New Adult/Contemporary /Romance
Publisher: Atria Books
Publication: August 2nd, 2016
Pages: 367

4 sterren

SOMETIMES THE ONE WHO LOVES YOU IS THE ONE WHO HURTS YOU THE MOST

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up – she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, and maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily, but Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan – her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

With this bold and deeply personal novel, Colleen Hoover delivers a heart-wrenching story that breaks exciting new ground for her as a writer. It Ends With Us is an unforgettable tale of love that comes at the ultimate price.

This book contains graphic scenes and very sensitive subject matter.


It Ends With Us is a book about loving people who are hurting you at the same time. We follow Lily, as she moves to Boston and starts her own business. Lily is a very strong and convincing character. She knows what she wants and she isn’t afraid to show it. This is something I really adore about Lily. Not just that she knows what she wants, but just that’s she’s her own person and doesn’t let anyone try to manipulate her. She goes through so much and I’m so proud on the way she handles it all. Although she’s strong, she isn’t afraid to be vulnerable, because she’s just so realistic. I’m really a fan of her.

Another main character in It Ends With Us is Ryle. And I don’t know, I was just very skeptical about him in the beginning. There was something about his personality and appearance that I didn’t like. I don’t know exactly, there was just something off. But when I read that he’s a neurosurgeon, my opinion changed. I’m just like Derek (Grey’s Anatomy fans will understand): he has a thing for ferry boats, I have a thing for neurosurgeons. So off I went: thinking Ryle was perfect, just because he’s a neurosurgeon. I was just going with the flow when it comes to liking Ryle. Because he is a good person. It’s only sad he does bad things. I knew I didn’t like him for some reason and now I know why. I hate what he’s done to Lily. I hated him the first time he did it, the second time he did it even more, but the third time? I was just so upset with Lily for being in that position. I feel such big grief for her.

“There is no such thing as bad people. We’re all just people who sometimes do bad things.”

The storyline is beautiful and the powerful message in it is even more beautiful. Right from the start you learn in what kind of home Lily grew up in and you know what kind of effect it has on her. It’s unexpected for Lily, but also for us as readers when later in the book we start to realize in what kind of situation Lily’s in, and it’s even harder because the situation she’s in reminds her of her past. It came as a shock to me, really, and to be able to follow Lily go through it is sad, but somehow also beautiful. We get to experience her journey with her and the way it’s written is kind of special.

“It stops here. With me and you. It ends with us.”

Even though the message was powerful, I didn’t like most of the things happening. I know, nobody would, but I got really sad everytime I read through the hard situations.

“Fifteen seconds. That’s all it takes to completely change everything about a person. Fifteen.”

Next to storylines and powerful messsages, It Ends With Us had also a very strong friendship going on. I loved the friendship between Lily and Alyssa. I’ll admit, I thought it started off a little bit weird, but as I read on I saw their friendship grow and I saw they really had a special connection. I loved it.

I first thought I was satisfied with the ending, because of that love triangle thing going on, but when I closed my book it felt like I missed a piece. Like missing a piece of a puzzle. And I know now why I’m actually not satisfied with the ending. Because I felt like the ending was kind of rushed, it felt a bit forced. I would have preferred if the epilogue was actually the last chapter and there would be a epilogue after that. I know that sounds crazy, and eventhough we somehow got a happy ending, I want more! I want a epilogue of the epilogue!

“He pulls back to look down at me and when he sees my tears, he brings his hands up to my cheeks. “In the future… if by some miracle you ever find yourself in the position to fall in love again… fall in love with me.”

It Ends With Us is a book with a beautiful, strong message and I’m glad I picked this one up. Even though I liked it very much, it’s not one of the greatest books I’ve read.

“You can stop swimming now, Lily. We finally reached the shore.”

9 thoughts on “It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

