Best Laid Plans by Jan Gayle

27220598Title: Best Laid Plans
Author: Jan Gayle
Genre: Chicklit, Romance, LGBT
Publisher: Bold Strokes Books
Publication: July 12th 2016
Pages: 240

I received an eARC from the publisher through Netgalley in an exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

3 sterren

Nicole James is a hard-working single mother who has dedicated her life to raising her son and providing a safe, loving home for him. Austin is a senior in high school now , and for the first time, Nicky is allowing some time for herself. When she meets Lauren Thomas, an architect at the firm where they work, they both fall deeply in love. Lauren is smart and charming and wonderful; she fits perfectly into Nicky’s family, which includes close friends who have stood beside her. But Nicky’s troubled past and Lauren’s societal fears present seemingly insurmountable challenges.


I got this book from Netgalley and it was my first LGBT book. I was excited because I really thought I would like this genre, but I got some mixed feelings.

The main characters are Nicole James (although she wants to be called Nicky), mother of her son Austin and Lauren Thomas, an architect at the firm where Nicky works. I liked Nicky, she was an okay character and I enjoyed reading from her POV. The same goes for Lauren, although sometimes I thought she was a bit desperate. The chapters are devided between Nicky and Lauren and both are from third person.

At first I really liked the story, but when I was like a quarter into the book I feel like everything was a bit rushed. The days went by really quick and I don’t like that to happen in a book. Like it was Monday morning and the next chapter it was Friday night. That made me feel like the romance was a bit forced. I pity that, because if it went by a little slower I would have prefered it a bit better.

I thought I would like a LGBT story, but I overhyped it. Don’t get me wrong, I support all gay people but when I have to read a story about them it’s just to much for me. I know I shouldn’t rate a story because of my first LGBT book experience and I don’t do that, but because of the rushing I didn’t like Nicky’s and Lauren’s relationship either.

I just liked the book, but nothing more or nothing special. So that’s why I give it three stars.

 

 

Leave a Reply

