Story Sound Saturday #5

WhatsApp-Image-20160603 (2)It’s another Story Sound Saturday!  In this post we (Melissa from Melissa’s Book World and me, Wendy) are gonna recommend books through some songs that we think can really relate to that story. We both had this idea for a couple of months now and we decided to combine our ideas with this post! Music can be very emotional and especially when you can relate a song to that book. We get super excited when that happens and we want to share that happiness with you..

Every two weeks on Saturday we’re gonna share our love for books and music throughout this blog post. Everytime we’ll choose a book or a series that we really liked or gave us some memorable moments. We’re gonna try to convey the essence of the books through music and ofcourse get you guys excited for them! Have fun!


Click here to read Melissa’s Story Sound Saturday!


10507293For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

For the 5th edition of Story Sound Saturday I’m choosing for The Selection! The Selection is one of my favorite dystopian reads and the romance and love in this book is actually what I liked the best about it. That’s why I also got found five songs perfect for this book.


Your Love Is My Drug – Ke$ha

I love Ke$ha’s music and Your Love Is My Drug is actually really in sync with the book.

What you’ve got, boy, is hard to find
I think about it all the time
I’m all strung out, my heart is fried
I just can’t get you off my mind

I don’t want to spoil anyone, but especially in The Elite and The One, this is Ke$ha. She can’t get someone of her mind..

Because your love, your love, your love is my drug
Your love, your love, your love
I said your love, your love, your love is my drug
Your love, your love, your love

His love is her drug.

I don’t care what people say
The rush is worth the price I pay
I get so high when you’re with me
But crash and crave you when you leave

This is so accurate with the storyline in The One.


You – Lost Kings ft. Katelyn Taner

You got me, baby, I got you back
Looking at you, thinking about
All of the ways that you know me
I can’t get enough
We got the future, but in the past
Good and the bad, making it last
We are what I want and I want what I already got

This represents the love between America and a particular person..

When you come through the room
I know that you know
If you fall, I will be there
Let’s light up like the moon
Yeah, we’re taking off, make it even brighter

That’s what I like about you (hey-ey)

It’s very hard not to spoil anyone! But this also represents their love!

When you call my name
When you pull me in
When you kiss my lips
Hey, that’s what I like
When you look like that
Make me feel like this
Baby, don’t forget
Hey, that’s what I like (hey-ey)

Do I need to say more? 😉


Oh My Love – The Score

I love this song so much! It’s so happy and cheerful.

Oh my love, let me be your fire
We’re a thousand miles up and I’m ’bout to get higher
Feel my heart beating out my chest
You’re the only prayer I need to make me feel blessed

This song is just.. I’m getting all the feels again!

Rest your head like it was made of stone
Next to mine, darling lay your bones
I hold you closer, let me show
We’ll shape this world like it was meant to be
Made of clay for only you and me
Awake with you is better than a dream
Better than a dream

I can’t say too much because otherwise I’ll spoil the whole thing, but this represents the ending of The One!

I won’t be afraid
If my spirit fades
Cause when I see your face
I know that I am saved
I won’t be afraid
If my spirit fades
When I see your face
I’m saved


Real Love – Clean Bandit ft. Jess Glynne

It’s in the way you look, it’s in the way you love
And I can see that this is real, real
It’s in the way you talk, it’s in the way you touch
And I can see

This is real, real, real, real love
This is real, real, real, real love
You give me that feeling, you give me that feeling
You give me that, you give me real love
You give me that feeling, you give me that feeling
You give me that, you give me real love

It’s reaaaaal love! Sorry for all the shippers of the boy that wasn’t The One (pun intended)

Time won’t waste, and we just learn
To take it slow and wait our turn
Held my breath, cause I believe
That you’ll find me

And they definitely found eachother!


The One – Kodaline

This song is so beautiful! This read the lyrics and you’ll understand why this song is the perfect match for this book.

Tell me, tell me that you want
And I’ll be yours completely, for better or for worse
I know, we’ll have our disagreements
Be fighting for no reason, I wouldn’t change it for the world
Cause I knew
The first day that I met you
I was never gonna let you
Let you slip away
And I still remember feeling nervous
Trying to find the words to
Get you here today

You make my heart feel like it’s summer
When the rain is pouring down
You make my whole world feel so right when it’s wrong
That’s how I know that you are the one
That’s why I know you are the one

When we are together you make me feel like my mind is free
And my dreams are reachable
You know I never ever believed in love or believed one day
That you would come along

Do I have to say more?


Melissa’s reaction: 

So, when Wendy chose for ‘the Selection’ this time around I immediately got excited! The selection is a real guilty pleasure read for me. It’s swoonworthy and romantic and full of FEELS, so I was reaaaallly curious to find out which songs Wendy would choose for this one. I love listening to songs and being introduced to new books, but listening to songs and being reacquainted with books you’ve already read is also something amazing ❤ I knew this story, these characters and what they’ve been through so the music and lyrics have a very deep impact on me this way, especially since the music is so well chosen! ‘the one’ by Kodaline is definitely my favorite I must say. When I listen to songs like these and let the words and music flow through my body, it just gives me Goosebumps, in the best possible way. It touches me and in this case I just really love the fact I already know the book(s) and therefore the characters.. Wendy choose really, realllyyyy well with this one, I LOVE the songs ❤ Don’t you ? 😉


I love doing this post and I especially loved searching songs for The Selection! What you do think about the songs? What songs would you match up with The Selection?

One thought on “Story Sound Saturday #5

Leave a Reply

