Book Struggle Sunday: Which book should I read next?

WhatsApp-Image-20160717After I told my friend Melissa about my discussion post (The Never Ending Battle of Paperbacks vs Hardcovers), Melissa came with the idea to do another collab. We love working together (Story Sound Saturday), so the idea was to also do a post on Sunday! The longer we were discussing the post, the more ideas we came up with and the more excited we got! We want to make an interactive post and that you, readers, join is in our ‘discussions/rants’ on the subjects that we post every Sunday from now on. This will be book related (book struggles), but also real life struggles. We come up with a thesis, write our opinion, ask your opinion in the comments and we hope we can all discuss about it.

This way, you get more insights and perhaps we will think more about certain subjects so that you come across new discoveries. In addition, the interactive portion seemed just super fun. Connecting with other readers and talk about books and more .. We are wondering what you’re going to think of it!


CLICK HERE TO READ MELISSA’S STRUGGLE POST


This week’s subject:

WHICH BOOK SHOULD I READ NEXT?


Book hangover
Every time I finish a book I’m left with that empty, emotional feeling because I’ve finished the book. I just don’t know what to do with my life anymore. Sometimes I cry for days, sometimes I’m happy for days and sometimes I feel like I live in the books for days. When I’m in that emotional state, I’m unable to read another book. A book hangover to be exact. I suffer from it occasionally, so you won’t see me finish two books on one day. But when I’m out of my book hangover, I’m suffering from another thing. WHICH BOOK SHOULD I READ NEXT?

giphy-2

Piles and piles of books
When you finally ‘sobered’ out, you want to read the next book. But which book is that? You’ve got a lot of options (I repeat A LOT) to choose from. Is it gonna be a contemporary one? A science fiction one? A fantasy one? Or maybe a paranormal read? DESICIONS DESICIONS. Unfortunately they have to be made. Usually I’ll just select four books or so and let other people decide. Like, pull up a Twitter poll or something.

giphy (3).gif

Piles and piles of ARCs
One of the many other problems are: what if you’ve also got a big (I repeat BIG) pile of ARCs that also need to be reviewed? Because I’ve got a big pile and by big I mean 30+ eARCs form Netgalley. And sometimes I get really stressed and freaked out because I’ve got so maybe that still need to be read and reviewed. I also get stressed and irritated because I really want to read my own books.. I mean, the struggle is REAL!

Balance it out
I guess the only option is to balance it out, read an ARC, read one of your own books, read an ARC.. and hopefully that will do the trick (for me it does). It will always stay a struggle, but I hope it gets doable, sometime in the future. I recently made a post about TBR piles, click here to read it.


What is your trick for choosing which book to read? How big is your TBR?

Leave a Reply

