Because I Love You by Tori Rigby

29075684Title: Because I Love You
Author: Tori Rigby
Genre: Young Adult/ Contemporary/ Romance
Publication: May 17th, 2016
Publisher: Blaze Publishing, LLC
Pages: 330
Format: Ebook

I received an eARC from the publisher through Netgalley in an exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

5 sterren

Eight weeks after sixteen-year-old Andie Hamilton gives her virginity to her best friend, “the stick” says she’s pregnant.

Her friends treat her like she’s carrying the plague, her classmates torture and ridicule her, and the boy she thought loved her doesn’t even care. Afraid to experience the next seven months alone, she turns to her ex-boyfriend, Neil Donaghue, a dark-haired, blue-eyed player. With him, she finds comfort and the support she desperately needs to make the hardest decision of her life: whether or not to keep the baby.

Then a tragic accident leads Andie to discover Neil’s keeping a secret that could dramatically alter their lives, and she’s forced to make a choice. But after hearing her son’s heartbeat for the first time, she doesn’t know how she’ll ever be able to let go.


To be honest, I didn’t expect that much from this book, especially because my friend Rachel from Fiction Over Reality gave it three stars. But that didn’t change my mind for not reading, because I buddy read this book with Sharon from Mission Book and damn… we loved this book.

Andie is the main character and we read from her POV, which is done in first person. I liked Andie a lot, she was smart, funny but I also got a lot (and I really mean A LOT) of sympathy for her. Because what she is going through is so heavy, and I just wanted to give her a big hug. I never wish for any sixteen year old to be going through the things she goes through (obviously being able to have a baby is AMAZING) but not in any of these circumstances.

And that’s what brings me to the part I hated most in this book. And that was literally everybody other than Andie’s mom, Neil and Jill. Because the other characters in this book are assholes and I was so freaking mad that I wanted to throw my phone across the room and I literally almost did. It’s so unbelievably childish to bully a person because she’s 16 and pregnant. I mean, what’s that for bullshit? Ugh, if I think about it I only get more frustrated. I just think it’s so stupid to bully someone and especially if she’s pregnant and yeah.. I can’t really think of any words but that can describe my feelings.

And Neil.. man I loved that guy. At first I was a little skeptical about him, but he got better every page. Ah, I just love the freaking guy! He is literally goals. I can’t decribe guys. He’s just perfect.

A thing Tori did very well is the plottwists in this book. Because there are quite some plottwists and all of them were so not expected. Which is surprising for a debut writer! And Tori, you deserve all the compliments in the world because girl, you can write! Damn.

This book was also quite emotional, I haven’t cried one time (but I almost did when I was reading the epilogue.. man… that epilogue) but I could really feel all the circumstances and hormones (of Andie of course) and it felt real. It felt as if I was Andie and that was another thing I loved about this book.

So.. I really don’t know what else to say about this book because it was freaking amazing.

 

2 thoughts on “Because I Love You by Tori Rigby

Leave a Reply

