Sunset In Central Park by Sarah Morgan

28507386
Title:
Sunset In Central Park
Author: Sarah Morgan
Series: From Manhattan With Love #2
Genre: Chicklit/ Contemporary/ Romance
Publisher:  HQN Books
Publication: August 30th, 2016
Pages: 384
Format: Ebook

I received an eARC from the publisher through Netgalley in an exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

5 sterren

In the chaos of New York, true love can be hard to find, even when it’s been right under your nose all along…

Love has never been a priority for garden designer Frankie Cole. After witnessing the fallout of her parents’ divorce, she’s seen the devastation an overload of emotion can cause. The only man she feels comfortable with is her friend Matt—but that’s strictly platonic. If only she found it easier to ignore the way he makes her heart race…

Matt Walker has loved Frankie for years but, sensing how fragile she is beneath her feisty exterior, has always played it cool. But then he uncovers new depths to the girl he’s known forever and doesn’t want to wait a moment longer. He knows Frankie has secrets and has buried them deep, but can Matt persuade her to trust him with her heart and kiss him under the Manhattan sunset?


I got this book from Netgalley, but why? Well first off, look at that cover! That’s some serious gorgeousness going on. While I was swooning over the cover I also read the synopsis and that made me only more excited for this book.. and thank god I got the eARC to review it. And guys, this book was definitely worth it.

The main character in Sunset In Central Park is Frankie, however, there are also a lot of parts written from Matt his point of view. This was done in third person. I really liked this formula and it made it easy for me to read – I literally flied through it!

The second I started reading this book, Frankie instantly got me. She’s a strong character and has her cynical ways, which I actually really like. This results in Frankie basically being really funny and her comments and her actions made me laugh hard at times. I also loved that she was booklover just like us, and I liked that she was great with plants. I’ve never read anything like at all, and it was fun.

The concept isn’t orignial, but has a twist which makes it a little bit unique for me. Normally the female is the dreamy, hopeless, romantic one and the male is the one that fail them. But this time around, Frankie has commitment issues and I think that’s unique because I’ve only ever read books with a male protagonist with commitment issues. Not a female. So that’s quite refreshing.

The concept had a deeper meaning and that was quite heavy. It was shocking to read about Frankie and her past and why she became the person who she is today. The effect that Frankie’s past has on her is damaging and it was heavy to read that effect reflecting on Frankie. That she is literally scarred for life as it comes to her love life. It kinda made me angry – probrably because of my hopeless romantic nature – that she had to miss out on love for most of her life thanks to some passed events.

But nothing was like it seems, because I loved every single page about Frankie and Matt’s romance. First of, it has a best-friend-to-lovers structure (my favorite!) and second their love was real. I could see it shining through my touchscreen. And I’m for real guys, it was amazing.

The seriousness and at the same time the romantic and compelling side of the story were bind together in an outstanding way. Well done Sarah!

I could talk about this book for hours and hours.. like how it was to read about Paige and Eva and all, but I will discuss that in the reviews of their own books.

I didn’t expect this book to be so good – yes, I thought it would be fun but I didn’t expect it to be one of my favorites, because it is. I don’t know what author names with Morgan in it do to me (Morgan Matson, Sarah Morgan) but I’m pretty sure I can add Sarah Morgan to my list of favorite authors. And I should probably read other ARCS that are almost due, but I’m gonna finish Miracle At 5th Avenue (third book in this series) anyway.

 

 

 

One thought on “Sunset In Central Park by Sarah Morgan

  1. […] Sunset In Central Park and Miracle On 5th Avenue by Sarah Morgan are probably my favorite sequels I’ve read so far in 2016. The books are actually book 2 and 3 in the ‘From Manhattan With Love’ series and I haven’t read the first book yet (the books can be read on their own) but I’m sure the books are very good sequels to Sleepless In Manhattan. These books are the perfect chicklit reads. Read my review here. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

