When We Collided by Emery Lord

28915259Title: When We Collided
Author: Emery Lord
Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary/Romance/Mental Health/Realistic Fiction
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens
Publication: April 7th 2016
Pages: 336

5 sterren

Seventeen year old Jonah Daniels has lived in Verona Cove, California, his whole life, and only one thing has ever changed: his father used to be alive, and now he’s not. Now Jonah must numbly take care of his family as they reel from their tragedy. Cue next change: Vivi Alexander, new girl in town.

Vivi is in love with life. A gorgeous and unfiltered hurricane of thoughts and feelings. She seems like she’s from another planet as she transforms Jonah’s family and changes his life. But there are always consequences when worlds collide …


When I first heard about this book, it was on Netgalley of course. I requested it, but unfortunately didn’t get it. So I had to wait till the book came out and I got it. I didn’t get to it earlier, but I finally could now.

The story is about Jonah and Vivi, and we read both from their perspectives. Both are in first person.

I really didn’t like Vivi at all in the first chapter, but as I moved on and read the second chapter from Jonahs POV, those hate feelings were gone and I started liking her. After reading another few chapters, I started loving her. She’s so happy and so charismatic, I want her to be by my side every day when I need some cheering up.

But that was when I didn’t know her for real, and before I’d read most of the book. Because I could totally understand Jonah when they had arguments. It surprises me that  I was on Jonahs side the whole time. And maybe that’s because I think I understand Vivi, but I really don’t.

This book is about depression, self harm and drug use. To sum it all up: it’s about a character with bipolar disorder. Vivi has been there. Jonah and I haven’t been there. Jonah doesn’t know what’s she’s been through, same goes for me, and maybe that’s why I was on Jonahs side the whole time. But that doesn’t take away that Jonah has also some kind of mental health struggles, after his dad’s death. I just could more relate to Jonah than Vivi, because we all sure have lost somebody close.

But that didn’t disappoint me or whatever, because I really enjoyed this book and I love Vivi. I got goosebumps all the way. This book is so real, so close to reality and it shows that it isn’t always rainbows and ray of sunshine. And I think that’s beautiful, really, to show us that side of hard life.

So back to the happy side of this book: I loved Leah! She was the cutest little sister ever. I mean, she was only five years old. So adorable.

Also Jonah was adorable, I really liked his character. He’s only seventeen years old but has been through so much, and I love to see him take care of the Littles  (his little brother and sisters) and being in charge, even though it can be really hard sometimes.

I thank Emery for this book. It’s raw, sad and heavy, but it’s the truth and that’s why I like it so much. I have the deepest respect for Emery, because she didn’t only write this story to highlight mental illness, but also because it comes from her heart. THANK YOU!

One thought on “When We Collided by Emery Lord

  1. Sounds good! En ook die mooie cover 😀 ik had het boek al vaker voorbij zien komen, maar wist eigenlijk nog niet waar die over ging. Het klinkt allemaal interessant. Ik ga ‘m op mijn lijstje zetten 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

