This Is What Goodbye Looks Like by Olivia Rivers

30079589Title: This Is What Goodbye Looks Like
Author: Olivia Rivers
Genre: Romance, Contemporary, Young Adult
Publisher: Red Sparrow Press
Publication: June 20th 2016
Pages: 338

I received an eARC from the publisher through Netgalley in an exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

4 sterren

Lea Holder watched a boy die in the same DUI accident that ruined Lea’s legs and threw her little sister into a coma. As the only eye-witness to the accident, if she tells the truth in court, the drunk driver will go to prison and the dead boy’s family will have justice. But Lea lies.

If she had told the truth, Lea would have put her own mom in prison for causing the accident. With the trial over and her mom set free, Lea attempts to rebuild her shattered life as she waits for her little sister to wake from her coma.

When Lea transfers schools, she finds herself in the same senior class as Seth Ashbury, the brother of the boy her mom killed. As Lea gets to know the person buried underneath Seth’s grief, she quickly falls for his quick wit and passionate soul. But Seth remains completely oblivious that Lea is the same girl who robbed his family of justice.

As their relationship deepens, Lea finally gets a taste of the love that’s been missing from her life since the accident. But soon she’s faced with a choice: she can continue her lies and accept the comfort it gives them both. Or she can tell Seth the truth about everything, and risk destroying both her family and her newfound love.


I got this book from Netgalley because the synopsis really spoke to me. It didn’t sound as a normal fluffy contemporary read and I needed that at the moment. I needed some seriousness. So I started buddy reading this book with Jaike from Despicable Books and we both enjoyed it.

The main character is Lea and we follow her as she just tranferred from a school in San Diego, to a school in Vermont, Harting. This isn’t a blunt decision – she has a reason for it. Through out the book we get to know Lea and her motives, but also what happened with her in the accident, but also what happened with her sister, her mother and a boy named Parker Ashbury. I have to say, I really loved this concept.  I really wanted to know what happened. The courtroom chapters really contributed to that, they kept me on the edge of my seat and I really wanted to know what happened.

As I said, the main character is Lea and we read form her POV. I liked Lea, but there were a few moments when I didn’t like her at all. She can really be a blabblermouth and be blunt. Sometimes she flips things out that are mean or really weird and yeah.. I just didn’t understand her sometimes.

I had the total opposited with Seth, because guys, he is goals. He literally is the most perfect person ever but sometimes it was a little unrealistic for me. I get that that just was his personality but sometimes was a little bit too much for me. He was just to perfect and well, nobody’s perfect. Everybody has flaws, right?

The thing I absolutely love the most about this book is the serious concepts. We are drawn into a protagonist who has experienced a car accident, but we also experience what it is like to have a sister who is in a coma. I loved that this wasn’t all rainbows and rays of sunshine and I loved the concept of kids with disabilities. Lea’s legs got ruined after the accident and she has to walk with a cane and Seth is born blind. I absolutely loved this book because of that and Olivia did a great job! I really want to read her other book, Tone Deaf, because of that.

So, this book wasn’t my favorite book to read, but I loved it a lot. I loved the concept and the seriousness and that’s why I give it four stars.

 

Leave a Reply

