Independence Day: Resurgence

Title: Independence Day: Resurgence
Release: June 23th 2016
Genre: Action, Adventure, Science Fiction.
Duration: 119 minutes
Director: Ronald Emmerich
Actors: Liam Hemsworth, Jeff Goldblum, Jessie T. Usher, Bill Pullman, Maike Moore, Sela Ward, William Fichtner, Judd Hirsch

5 sterren

Two decades after the freak alien invasion that nearly destroyed mankind a new threat emerges. This Allen mothership is more than twice the size as the last one and once again, the world’s armies must band together to save the world. Do they have enough firepower or will this battle change and will aliens take over?


The reason why I wanted to see this movie is because I went to the movies with my brother-in-law and we had to choose a movie. I saw the trailer of Independence Day: Resurgence and I was in love… that special effects! Normally I’m not the one to go for science-fiction movies – yeah okay, The Hunger Games and Divergent are science-fiction in some kind of way, but they’re both more futuristic than science-fiction. So we decided that this was the movie we were gonna see. I told my brother-in-law there’s a first movie and maybe it was good for us to watch that one too, so you get the plot. Don’t get me wrong, I liked the first movie but it was just.. not as the movies as today. Let me tell you: my brother-in-law fell asleep halfway through the movie and I was the one saying the whole time: is it over yet? It just wasn’t that spectaculair than this days movies and I know I’m a bitch when I say that, but it’s the truth.

So yeah, we were in the cinema and the second the movie started I was sucked back into the plot. I was glad I did see the first movie, otherwise I wouldn’t have known what they were talking about. I’ve read a lot of reviews that said that this movie was just rubbish and I’m not that great with movie reviews, but I totally disagree with that. THIS MOVIE WAS EPIC.

First off, the special effects in the world building. That was the first reason I wanted to go to this movie and while I was watching I literally got goosebumps because of the special effects. Okay, maybe it was also because of the 3D glasses and the IMAX experience, but I guess if I wasn’t watching 3D I would have goosebumps too.. If you want to see what I’m talking about, please watch the trailer. IT WAS SO COOL.

And that special effects they did with the aliens… SUCH A GOOD JOB. It wasn’t the way I pictured aliens, but still, they did a very good job.

The scenes were great. I think the plot was well-written and it just made sense. There were a few plottwists and actually, I really loved them. It just kept me on the edge of my seat.

And the casting! I didn’t know Liam Hemsworth was playing in this movie, until I saw the trailer. Maybe Liam was also another reason I had to go.. because I loved him in The Hunger Games and I just think he’s a great actor. I think they did really well with choosing the actors and the characters, they just made sense.

I liked that this wasn’t a movie all about action and aliens, but that there were also a lot of jokes and funny moments. That time Jake was peeing on the mothership.. I literally almost peed my own pants from laughing so hard.

The only thing that was kinda weird in this movie was one thing.. in the end, a lot of the world was destroyed from the mothership, same as Paris. Like literally everything was destroyed, except for the Eiffel Tower. It made me laugh a little actually. Sure guys, everything is destroyed but the Eiffel Tower? Nope. Undestroyable.

So, is there another thing I want to say about this movie? I don’t think so. I really enjoyed it and I really think it deserves five stars. If you loved the first movie, or you are really into the science-fiction movies, you should definitely see this one.

 

Leave a Reply

