Story Sound Saturday #2

WhatsApp-Image-20160603 (2)It’s another Story Sound Saturday!  In this post we (Melissa from Melissa’s Book World and me, Wendy) are gonna recommend books through some songs that we think can really relate to that story. We both had this idea for a couple of months now and we decided to combine our ideas with this post! Music can be very emotional and especially when you can relate a song to that book. We get super excited when that happens and we want to share that happiness with you..

Every two weeks on Saturday we’re gonna share our love for books and music throughout this blog post. Everytime we’ll choose a book or a series that we really liked or gave us some memorable moments. We’re gonna try to convey the essence of the books through music and ofcourse get you guys excited for them! Have fun!


Click here to read Melissa’s Story Sound Saturday!


25063750When sixteen-year-old Eden Munro agrees to spend the summer with her estranged father in the beachfront city of Santa Monica, California, she has no idea what she’s letting herself in for. Eden’s parents are divorced and have gone their separate ways, and now her father has a brand new family. For Eden, this means she’s about to meet three new step-brothers. The eldest of the three is Tyler Bruce, a troubled teenager with a short temper and a huge ego. Complete polar opposites, Eden quickly finds herself thrust into a world full of new experiences as Tyler’s group of friends take her under their wing. But the one thing she just can’t understand is Tyler, and the more she presses to figure out the truth about him, the more she finds herself falling for the one person she shouldn’t – her step-brother.

Throw in Tyler’s clingy girlfriend and a guy who has his eyes set on Eden, and there’s secrets, lies and a whole lot of drama. But how can Eden keep her feelings under control? And can she ever work out the truth about Tyler?

The reason why I chose this book in our second Story Sound Saturday is because I love this series to death. It’s the perfect book for me – contemporary, romance and young adult. The reason why I didn’t pick this series as a whole is because I can find so much songs that can relate to this story. So for today it’s Did I Mention I Love You? turn and in two weeks, it’s Did I Mention I Need You?!


Jarryd James – Do You Remember

I’ve known this song for so long now and when I read DIMILY and listened to this song again.. it just fitted perfectly with the book.

“So many can’t tell anybody
Harder to let you know”

This represents the situation Tyler and Eden are in, they can’t tell anybody about them and it’s just hard to let eachother know that.

“Caught up in the way that you played my heart
Only love could ever hit this hard”

This is a quote a lot of songs have: if you have a love this great, it can only be harder for the person when their relationship is going towards its end. That’s all I’m gonna say for now!!

“Oh don’t be scared about it
Don’t forget it was real
Do you remember the way it made you feel
Do you remember the things it let you feel?”

This person really tries to make a point towards the other: do you remember the way it made you feel, don’t forget it was real. They’re trying to keep the relationship, that’s also all I’m gonna say for now!


Zara Larsson – Uncover

It’s like this song was written for DIMILY.

“Nobody sees – Nobody knows
We are a secret – can’t be exposed
That’s how it is – That’s how it goes
Far from the others
Close to each other”

Nobody knows about Tyler and Eden, they are a secret and especially, they can’t be exposed.

“We could build a universe right here
All the world could disappear
Wouldn’t notice, wouldn’t care

We could build a universe right here
The world could disappear
Yeah I just need you near”

No explanation needed, right?


Troye Sivan – Touch

This really represents the interactions between Tyler and Eden, especially on the 4th of July and the beach party.

“Glow is low and it’s dimming
And the silence is ringing
I can almost feel your breath
I can almost feel the rest
Night is young and we’re living
Hands move, moving steady
The time’s moving slow
I can feel we’re getting closer, closer”

This doesn’t need a explanation, I mean, look at that lyrics! It pretty much tells it all.

“Standing in the eye of the storm
My eyes start to roam to the curl of your lips
And the center of eclipse
In total darkness I reach out and touch”


John Mayer ft. Katy Perry – Who You Love

This song is beautiful and especially its message.

“You love, who you love
Who you love
You love, who you love
Who you love”

The special message in this song is: you love who you love. It doesn’t matter who you love, as long as you’re happy. That’s exactly what Tyler and Eden are so afraid of: their stepsiblings and stepsiblings can’t love eachother.. I just think this is a perfect song so represent that problem.

“My girl, she isn’t the one
I saw coming
And sometimes I don’t know which way to go
And I tried to run before
But I’m not running anymore
Because I’ve fought against it hard enough to know”

The reason why I love this book so much is because of the stepsiblings problem. Luckily I’m a very open-minded girl so I don’t mind many things. Look at that lyrics. Tyden, just go for it!

“My boy ain’t the one that I saw coming
And some have said his heart’s too hard to hold
And it takes a little time
But you should see him when he shines
You never want to let that feeling go”


Melissa’s reaction:

What a f*cking great choice of songs for this book! Excuse my language 😉 hehe.. I’ve read DIMILY so this time around I exactly feel what Wendy feels when she listens to these songs and thinking about Eden and Tyler. Especially this song: Zara Larsson – Uncover. Like Wendy said it’s like it was written especially for this book. But the other songs also match the book very well. Listening to these songs gives you a thought on Eden and Tyler’s story, and boy did Wendy choose good with these songs. And I can’t help but copy this text from the lyrics of John Mayer ft. Katy Perry – Who You Love:
“”My boy ain’t the one that I saw coming
And some have said his heart’s too hard to hold
And it takes a little time
But you should see him when he shines
You never want to let that feeling go”

Just… Sigh..Perfection!!!


As you can read I’m very happy about the results! Because Melissa already read DIMILY I really could bring over the feels I have about DIMILY when I listen to these songs. Did you read DIMILY? What do you think? And if you haven’t read DIMILY, would you now? Next week it’s DIMINY it’s turn! I can’t wait until I can show you some more book to music feels 😉

Love, Wendy and Melissa

Did you miss the first edition of Story Sound Saturday? Click here!

One thought on “Story Sound Saturday #2

Leave a Reply

