12 Hours In Paradise by Kathryn Berla

Title: 12 Hours In Paradise
Author: Kathryn Berla
Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary/Romance
Publisher: Limitless Publishing
Publication: April 6th 2016
Pages: 194

I received an eARC from the publisher through Netgalley in an exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

4 sterren

Twelve hours, thirty-six questions, and a chance to fall in love… It’s the last day of Dorothy Patmont’s family vacation. Soon, she must head back to Reno, where all that waits for her is the cold and the snow. To top it all off, her brother, Chester, acted like a little jerk and ate one too many cookies from the sample jar in the cookie store. But his antics have an unexpected benefit-attracting the attention of an intriguing boy who could change her life forever. Treats can be sweet, but love is sweeter still…

Arash Atkinson, fluent in four languages and an adventurous soul, is in Waikiki for a high school band competition. When he meets Dorothy, he realizes their time together is limited. “Come out and play,” he texts her. A night of romantic adventure ensues, and Arash discovers an app that claims it can make people fall in love after answering thirty-six questions in each other’s presence. With each question asked, their stories and feelings continue to unfold. But with every hour that passes they’re more at risk of being found out-Dorothy, by her parents, and Arash by his school chaperone. And then Arash gets the dreaded phone call-he has been discovered missing from his room, and must return immediately. Can they finish the questions before facing their consequences?

When time is running out, true love cannot wait. What Arash and Dorothy have is beyond special, something that comes along once in a lifetime, and begins with Twelve Hours In Paradise…but can it survive the trials of the real world?


If I have to be honest, like really honest, I didn’t expect this book to be so good. Sure, I thought it would be cute and all but I really didn’t expect myself to be enjoying it so much. Let me tell you why.

First of I have to say something about the insta love. Hmm, other people wil most likely say Dorothy and Arash fell for eachother really fast, but I fell in love with their story just as quick. I mean, they get 12 hours to really get to know eachother (thanks to the dating app) and that makes it realistic. And that getting to know eachother part was great. I could really feel Dorothy and her process of falling in love and everytime Arash did something cute, I also fell in love with him a little bit more.

I also thank Chester a lot, thanks to him Dorothy really got a chance to get to know Arash. I mean, which other 10-year-old brother would do that for you? I don’t have a younger brother, but if I have to imagine one I don’t think he would do that for me.

The only thing that was a little bit ‘less’ was the writing style. You could definitely see some of the writing wasn’t fluent or maybe a little bit weird, but after all it didn’t bother me so much.

And ofcourse, sure, if you compare this book to other great books out there, you will most likely say it doesn’t deserve the four stars because of the writing. But I’m different than other people. I will enjoy a book like this just as much as a book with a better writing style and I love myself for that. Because where would be the fun if you always keep comparing books to eachother?

After all, I really want to thank Limitless Publishing for giving me a opportunity to read and review this book, because I really enjoyed it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

