Story Sound Saturday #1

WhatsApp-Image-20160603 (2)

Today is the day! This is the first edition of Story Sound Saturday. In this new post we (Melissa from Melissa’s Book World and me, Wendy) are gonna recommend books through some songs that we think can really relate to that story. We both had this idea for a couple of months now and we decided to combine our ideas with this post! Music can be very emotional and especially when you can relate a song to that book. We get super excited when that happens and we want to share that happiness with you..

So this is the plan: every two weeks on Saturday we’re gonna share our love for books and music throughout this blog post. Everytime we’ll choose a book or a series that we really liked or gave us some memorable moments. We’re gonna try to convey the essence of the books through music and ofcourse get you guys excited for them! Have fun!


Click here to read Melissa’s Story Sound Saturday! (The translate button is on the right, down below)


7664334Amy Curry is not looking forward to her summer. Her mother decided to move across the country and now it’s Amy’s responsibility to get their car from California to Connecticut. The only problem is, since her father died in a car accident, she isn’t ready to get behind the wheel. Enter Roger. An old family friend, he also has to make the cross-country trip – and has plenty of baggage of his own. The road home may be unfamiliar – especially with their friendship venturing into uncharted territory – but together, Amy and Roger will figure out how to map their way.

So for the first post of Story Sound Saturday I chose Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson. As you’ll probably know, Morgan Matson is my favorite author and I loved Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour. That’s probably because the story is original but the love between Amy & Roger is also so original and cute ❤ I ship them so hard! I wanted to share their love with some songs (and a song that can really relate to the book itself) and I hope you (and Melissa ofcourse!) will enjoy!


Sweet Child O’ Mine – Guns N’ Roses

Actually, this song isn’t really about the meaning of the storyline about the book, but I just thought it would be fun to add it to the list because; Roger & Lucien really liked the song and Amy didn’t know it.. I mean.. WHAT? Everybody knows this song, right?


On My Way – Lea Michele

Okay, so this is probably another song that isn’t directly the same as the meaning of the storyline of the book, but some bits and pieces really fit with the book. If you’ve read this maybe you can relate, but:

“Cause I fall one step forward
To push you away, push you away”

I guess this is about the way things started off with Amy and Roger. They didn’t know eachother, Amy kind of had the feeling to push Roger away and I guess it’s mostly because of the death of her dad.

“Baby, all I want is you, tonight
When my head tells me no, my heart tells me go slow
I’m hitting the road cause I
I know my heart’s too drunk to drive
But I’m on my way to you”

I don’t want to spoil anyone, but it’s clear Amy & Roger fall in in love with eachother and well… the quote from ‘On My Way’ really represents that, in some way.


Anything Could Happen – Ellie Goulding

“Yes since we found out
Since we found out
That anything could happen
Anything could happen”

The main reason I chose this song is because we all have that moments when we don’t expect something to happen, but in the end it happens. Just like Amy & Roger, they didn’t expect to be falling in love with eachother and well I guess.. Anything Could Happen 😉 (and OFCOURSE I also chose this song because I LOVE this song)


Flor – Heart 

This is also a songs that doesn’t directly relate to the book, but some bits and pieces really fit with the book.

“All of these moving parts
From the start we were changing
I should have seen the signs
All the time we’ll be staging”

Especially the first two sentences can relate to the beginning of the book, at first Amy & Roger were strangers to eachother, but as the story moves on they were changing, towards eachother.

Also the second sentences can really relate, they should have seen the signs of falling in love.

“We’ve got the heart
It’s true
Don’t wanna waste love
Don’t wanna hurt you”

In my opinion, this can be about first love. You’ve got the heart, you don’t wanna waste that love and you don’t want to hurt one another. That’s exactly like Amy & Roger’s love!

“We’re gonna pull through
We’re gonna let heart hold true”

This really represents the ending of Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour. I don’t want to spoil anyone, so I’m just gonna leave you in curiousness!


Melissa’s reaction:

OMG, those songs are amazing!
First of all, I was really enthousiastic about the book after reading the synopsis, but in combination with the songs Wendy chose; it just made me fall for Amy & Roger already and I can’t wait to read their story! I just love the fact that music is so emotional and just ‘grabs a hold on you’ just as a good book does so music is just an amazing ‘instrument’ to make people even more enthousiastic about books. It gives you a whole new level of emotional commitment I think, with the story and characters in a book.
I love each and every song Wendy has chosen for this book! And I really can’t wait to find out which part of the book made Wendy choose for each song. When I’m gonna read this book, I’ll definitely replay those songs on repeat during my read.
And I can’t wait to see which book Wendy has in store for us next week and which songs will accompany that book(series).


And this was it! Our first Story Sound Saturday! I really enjoyed it and I CAN’T wait to hear the reactions form you guys! Also, I’m so excited for the coming posts. I’m already listening to a lot of songs that can relate to some books.. I hope you liked it and we would like to hear you’re intake on this!

Love, Wendy and Melissa

 

2 thoughts on “Story Sound Saturday #1

Leave a Reply

