The Crown by Kiera Cass

26074181Title: The Crown
Author: Kiera Cass
Series: The Selection #5
Genre: YA Dystopian/Romance
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication: May 3th
Pages: 279

3 sterren

When Eadlyn became the first princess of Illéa to hold her own Selection, she didn’t think she would fall in love with any of her thirty-five suitors. She spent the first few weeks of the competition counting down the days until she could send them all home. But as events at the palace force Eadlyn even further into the spotlight, she realizes that she might not be content remaining alone.

Eadlyn still isn’t sure she’ll find the fairytale ending her parents did twenty years ago. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and soon Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more impossible—and more important—than she ever imagined.


The Selection is one of my favorite series ever, so obviously I pre-ordered The Crown and started reading right away. I seriously thought this book would be better, because of the epic plottwist in The Heir but also because this is the last book in the series. But unfortunately, Kiera Cass kinda let me down. I’ll tell you why.

So first of, I was beginning the book and I really enjoyed it. The epic plottwist at the end of The Heir continued and I was satisfied with the outcome of that.. but after that it kinda went downhill. I know I’m unreasonable but I just felt that way.

First, Eadlyn had to choose a guy for her Selection; that’s what this book is about, right? So she did. But I’m so disappointed in who she chose (I know this probably shouldn’t be a problem because everyone has their taste..) and the events were just a little crazy in my opinion. Suddenly this whole romance thing between Eadlyn and her boy seemed very insta love like and I just didn’t like that.. I just prefer another boy who she could have fallen in love with!

Also, can we talk about the last 100 pages? Because they were chaotic as hell. I mean, everything that probably could have happen, happened and it went by so fast. Too fast, if you ask me. I couldn’t maintain the pace and if this book was just 100 pages longer I think it would be so much better. This doesn’t take away the epicness of the events: because that was a thing that Kiera did very well. Because of all the events, the story had to take a turn and that was one I didn’t expect at all.

But that Epilogue guys??? What was that? The only thought I had was: ‘Can’t we get more, is this it?’ because I think that was the most crappy epilogue ever. Don’t get me wrong, I loved the idea behind it (like, the refering to the beginning of The Heir) but shouldn’t a Epilogue be all about the life AFTER the end? Like fine, Eadlyn chose her guy, but can’t we at least get their happy ending? 😦 I was very sad after that.

And this book isn’t all bad guys, because there are a lot of things I was happy about. Example: Eadlyn. I loved her story and how she evolved throughout the series. First she was a bitch, but right now she is so sweet and understanding.. I loved that development and that’s absolutely a big plus!

I know, I’m awfully cruel by writing this review, especially because Kiera Cass once used to be my favorite author (well guys.. she probably still is), but I just felt that way when I read it and I wish it didn’t give me the feeling that it had to be rushed, just for it’s releasing  date sake. I just feel like this book deserved more than this. So sorry Kiera, for slashing your book, but I give The Crown three stars.

 

 

5 thoughts on “The Crown by Kiera Cass

  1. Seriously though, this review is everything! I love the Selection series so much, so this book was such a huge disappointment! Kiera definitely should’ve taken notes from how famous MaxonxAmerica’s slow love was and not have made this an insta love book. The second half was so rushed and chaotic, and honestly, I was thought she was more in a rush to finish it before the deadline rather than giving us the best. All in all, I was super disappointed to not get the perfect happily ever after!
    P.S.- I was Team Kile all the way. What a bummer! ):

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

