The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

17838528Title: The Unexpected Everything
Author: Morgan Matson
Genre: Contemporary
Publisher: Simon & Schulster
Publication: May 3th 2016
Pages: 519

5 sterren

Andie had it all planned out. When you are a politician’s daughter who’s pretty much raised yourself, you learn everything can be planned or spun, or both. Especially your future.

Important internship? Check.
Amazing friends? Check.
Guys? Check (as long as we’re talking no more than three weeks).

But that was before the scandal. Before having to be in the same house with her dad. Before walking an insane number of dogs. That was before Clark and those few months that might change her whole life. Because here’s the thing—if everything’s planned out, you can never find the unexpected. And where’s the fun in that?


Okay first of all, you shouldn’t take me seriously with this review because obviously, Morgan Matson is my favorite author and all her books deserve a 5 star rating in my opinion. But I will try to really explain why this book was so, so great.

So the main character in The Unexpected Everything is Andie Walker. She’s just a normal girl, who has three best friends, wants to be a doctor someday and only has boyfriends for three weeks. Suprisingly, I really liked Andie. She was a character that was easy to follow, and she didn’t annoy me once. I just loved reading from her perspective and I could really relate to her on certain areas. Example: I’m totally on the same page with Andie as it comes to hazelnut: I can’t stand it either. It just has a despicable taste, right?!

A characteristic of Morgan’s writing style is the friends, family and love elements. In every book there’s enough content on the friend, family and love area and I loved the friendship element in The Unexpected Everything. It’s done very nicely but surprisingly very different from (her) other books. Authors usually go for one or two best friends, but I’ve never seen a protagonist with three best friends. I really liked it and it made the story refreshing. The events and especially the last ones makes this friendship realistic and that’s probably another reason why I liked it so much. And I also have to talk about best friend Toby because man.. I loved that girl. I haven’t seen ANY character in a book that I could relate to that badly. It felt like Toby was a reflection of me. Like: I also use emoji’s A LOT and I’m also an hopeless romantic, like the exact same as Toby. I really wanted to read more of her! 😦

The family content was another great thing about this book, because that was such a development! At first you could really see the distance between Andie and her dad, but as the story moves on they become closer and it made me smile. I liked how their story was built up to its climax.

And the last element: love, another great element. I loved Andie and Clark’s story. At first they saw each other occasionally, especially because of Bertie (THAT DOG GUYS! He is such a cutie). But after all the ‘dog greetings’ it becomes clear that Andie kind of likes Clark and just goes with the flow and tries to find out if Clark likes her too.. I was relieved when it turned out this wasn’t going to be insta love, because I really hate insta love because it always turns out to be unrealistic. Instead of The Unexpected Everything, because everything was done very realistically.

Also, can we talk about Clark?! I adored him! At first he was so adorable with his geek-cute image and his shyness and awkwardness around Andie was so unbelievably cute! I really wanted him to be alive and to squeeze his cheeks.. (wow that sounded weird, didn’t it?). I really liked his other side, because when you cracked through his shell he turned out to be this confident, handsome nineteen year old and oh my god, I think I just found another bookboyfriend.

If you didn’t notice, the word ‘realistic’ is an important word in this review, because it’s also an important word in the book. The Unexpected Everything is a very realistic story; Morgan tried to stayed as close to the realistic world as possible and I think she succeeded that. I think that’s mainly due to the events, because they’re just as it would happen in real life and they’re an emotional train. Morgan managed to make me feel sorry for all the characters, but at the same time I hated them just as much (just in real life, right? ;))

And: THE DOGS ON THE COVER. LOOK AT THEM. THEY’RE SO CUTE!!!!! Best contemporary cover ever guys, I swear to God.

The Unexpected Everything was literally everything that I didn’t expect.. (I know.. bad joke) it was SO MUCH MORE! I guess Since You’ve Been Gone is still my favorite of all four, but The Unexpected Everything is a very (like, very very) close second.

 

 

One thought on “The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

Leave a Reply

