Lola And The Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

22247695Title: Lola And The Boy Next Door
Author: Stephanie Perkins
Series: Anna And The French Kiss #2
Genre: Romantic Contemporary/Young Adult
Publisher: Usborne Publishing
Publication: 1 juni 2014
Pages: 372

4 sterren

Lola Nolan is a budding costume designer, and for her, the more outrageous, sparkly, and fun the outfit, the better. And everything is pretty perfect in her life (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood. When Cricket, a gifted inventor, steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.


Last november I read Anna And The French Kiss and I love dit. I wanted to read the other two book in the series, so two weeks ago it was Lola And The Boy Next Door its turn to amaze me.

First of all I think Lola is such a fun main character! Especially her originality is very appealing. Lola is a girl who is herself and doesn’t care about what other people think. So she makes her own clothes and she never wears the same thing twice. It was fun to read a story from a protagonist that isn’t mainstream, but just completely different.

“I know you aren’t perfect. But it’s a person’s imperfections that make them perfect for someone else.”

Cricket is also a very fun character. He is so cute and serioulsy the nicest person I’ve ever seen. Despite everything that has happened in the past and everything that happens – the quarrels with his sister and the circumstances surrounding Lola’s love life, he remains this nice boy and he continues to help Lola. Étienne was a great protagonist, but so is Cricket!

“Just because something isn’t practical doesn’t mean it’s not worth creating. Sometimes beauty and real-life magic are enough.”

And as of I’m speaking of Étienne, I have to say something about him. I knew that they – Étienne and Anna, ofcourse – came back in this book, but I didn’t know that it happened so quickly and so often! I loved to know about Anna and Étienne after their adventure in Paris and it was something different – something fun – to see their relationship through the eyes of another person.

“When it’s right, it’s simple.”

And ofcourse, Stephanie’s writing style was great as always. It was light and easy and – just like her other books – it was funny. That is perhaps the best thing about Stephanie her writing style. She writes in a funny way and at the same time she keeps it light. Reading through her writing style makes is so easy and that is also a reason why I finished this book in one sitting.

And I hold my head high towards my big entrance, hand in hand with the boy who gave me the moon and the stars. 

I must admit that I didn’t find this book perfect. Don’t get me wrong, I really – really enjoyed Lola, but it wasn’t that great as Anna And The French Kiss, so I couldn’t give it five stars. There’s a little less tension and in my opinion, it should had a little more drama. Despite this, I still give Lola And The Boy Next Door four beautiful stars!

 

Leave a Reply

