Did I Mention I Need You? by Estelle Maskame

26817827Title: Did I Mention I Need You?
Author: Estelle Maskame
Series: Did I Mention I Love You? #2
Genre: Young Adult/Romantic Contemporary
Publisher: Black and White Publishing
Publication: October  19th 2016
Pages: 400

I received an eARC from the publisher through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. All opnions are my own.

5 sterren

It’s been a year since eighteen-year-old Eden Munro last saw Tyler Bruce: her stepbrother…and her secret love. Although they called time on their forbidden relationship for the sake of their family, Eden can’t help but feel excited when Tyler invites her to join him in New York City for the summer.

Anyway, Eden is happy with her boyfriend Dean, and surely Tyler has moved on too. But as they spend a long, hot summer in the excitement of the city that never sleeps, it soon becomes obvious that they aren’t over each other. But can they resist temptation?


So, the other day I was searching on bol.com (Dutch webshop) and I found the Did I Mention I Love You? ebooks and they were hella cheap. The DIMILY trilogy had been on my TBR list for a while now, so I bought them. I’m glad I bought them both, because I couldn’t stand to wait any longer to read Did I Mention I Need You? after DIMILY (now I have to wait another month for Did I Mention I Miss You? but that aside). I’ve been enjoying this book so much and I wish this series would never stop.

The story developed gradually, which I actually find very pleasing. Normally that would really get on my nerves, but I especially liked this story because of the way everything developed. It just made it realistic.

And I have to say, this isn’t a light read. Tyler is the stepbrother of Eden, so you can expect a lot of drama in their relationship but also within their group of friends and ofcourse, their family. Not just that, but there is this theme that we saw in DIMILY that is also a theme in DIMINY: cheating. Normally I would be really mad and throw my book immediately across the room if there is any cheating involved, but somehow the situation is described other than normal. I get Eden and I know how she feels and that makes me have a bit of sympathy for her.

“I don’t want you. I need you.”

Also the main characters have evolved a lot since DIMILY and especially Tyler. I found it so much more fun to read about him, because he is so much happier, and in the past two years he has learned a lot. It was nice to really see this development. It makes the story immediately a lot more realistic. In addition, Eden has also evolved but she still has her moments. And actually, they are kind of really stupid ones. Sometimes I really had a tendency to hit her on her head, because she was jealous and not just jealous, but like extremely jealous. Despite this, Eden saw her mistakes and after all she came to her senses.

Did I Mention I Need You? is an emotional roller coaster. I was angry, I laughed, but I especially cried. A lot. The events were just so heartbreaking and I just couldn’t hold it in anymore. I seriously had to take an half hour to calm down until I was able to read again. A little dramatic maybe? Nope, nothing is too dramatic for DIMINY.

“I don’t know what being in love with someone is supposed to feel like, but if being in love means thinking about someone every second of the day… If being in love means your entire mood shifts when they’re around… If being in love means you’d you anything and everything for them, then I am endlessly in love with you.”

Last but not least I really have to share my feelings. MY OTP GOT MESSED UP. Most people will ship Eden and Tyler and don’t get me wrong, they are super cute and all.. but there is just this other OTP which I really (like really) like and I couldn’t believe when they were torn apart. You recognize that feeling? *sigh*

Somehome Estelle has managed to amaze me again with her horrific story about Eden and Tyler and I can’t wait until Did I Mention I Miss You?. Did I Mention I Need You? made all my expectations come true.. and more! I think it is my favorite book of 2016.. so far! 😉

Leave a Reply

