Did I Mention I Love You? by Estelle Maskame

 

wp-1458253028144.jpgTitle: Did I Mention I Love You?
Author: Estelle Maskame
Series: Did I Mention I Love You? #1
Genre: Contemporary/Young Adult/Romance
Publisher: Black & White Publishing
Publication: 1 juli 2015
Pages: 421

5 sterren

When sixteen-year-old Eden Munro agrees to spend the summer with her estranged father in the beachfront city of Santa Monica, California, she has no idea what she’s letting herself in for. Eden’s parents are divorced and have gone their separate ways, and now her father has a brand new family. For Eden, this means she’s about to meet three new step-brothers. The eldest of the three is Tyler Bruce, a troubled teenager with a short temper and a huge ego. Complete polar opposites, Eden quickly finds herself thrust into a world full of new experiences as Tyler’s group of friends take her under their wing. But the one thing she just can’t understand is Tyler, and the more she presses to figure out the truth about him, the more she finds herself falling for the one person she shouldn’t – her step-brother.

Throw in Tyler’s clingy girlfriend and a guy who has his eyes set on Eden, and there’s secrets, lies and a whole lot of drama. But how can Eden keep her feelings under control? And can she ever work out the truth about Tyler?


I requested this book on Netgalley last summer, but unfortunetely I didn’t get it. The other day I heard that there’s gonna be a Dutch translation of this book and that is the moment I just knew I had to read this book. The e-books were cheap on bol.com (Dutch webshop), so I bought them and I started reading with a very positive outcome.

The main character is Eden and I finally found a character that’s reasonable. Most of the characters got this little something, one is too bitchy, another is too shy and the other is too insecure. Eden was a perfect mix between these and I seriously didn’t get annoyed with her one single time. This is a huge pro, because that quite happens to me. Besides, Eden is very funny, she made several comments that really made me laugh.

“The drive to Tiffani’s house is nothing but a journey full of anxiety. I can think about one thing and one thing only: I haven’t shaved my legs.”

Edens personality was extremely pleasing and that also gave me help with imagining the whole thing and following the story. It often happens that my attention strays from the story when the main character annoys me, but that really wasn’t the case here.

“What does this Ella woman have that my mom doesn’t? A better dish-scrubbing technique? Better meatloaf?”

In the beginning I had plannend not to fall for Tyler, because seriously, he really is a jerk. I just couldn’t let him get to me so that I would like him. But I am still enchanted in some way. I don’t know how he does it, but it’s pretty annoying. In addition, I had the same thing with Jake but in reverse. I thought he was GREAT at the beginning, but that feeling dissapeared when I continued reading. I immediately started creating some hate feelings towards Jake when he called Eden babe. We all know how much I hate that word. And while I’m all the same telling you something about the male protagonists, I might as well tell you something about Dean. HE IS SUCH A SWEETHEART! He is so cute and loving and omg I literally can’t!

He points his can to the floor, and down by the hall table, a small orange and white cat is cowering. “Aw, man.” Laying his beer down, he bends and scoops the cat up into his arms, ruffling the fur on the back of its neck. “Why not date this little guy? It’s probably got bigger balls than Jake.”

Eden had also three other girlfriends, Rachel, Meghan and Tiffani. Although I can better call Tiffani a frenemy. This creates a tremendous rension between Eden and Tiffani in the book and I must say that Tiffani can be quite a bitch. In contrast, Rachel and Meghan are absolutely nice girls, I wish I had them as friends.

I loved the setting and the time in which the book takes place. L.A., summer, the weather and everything just felt real. I must say that not everything was that detailed, but the writing of Estelle was very pleasing and imagining wasn’t hard because of that. It happens a lot that a book fails me with that part and it gives me the feeling I’m missing a piece from the book.

Even though I pretty much knew from the synopsis what was going to happen, the events still took me totally by surprise. It came so unexpectedly and that’s a big pro. I was very worried that it would be a little predictable by the synopsis.

“Tyler may have told me his secrets, but now he has a new one.”

Somewhere towards the end of the story there’s a big plottwist and I didn’t see it coming AT ALL. What happens then is quite emotional, I almost burst into tears when I was on the train.

I’m also very happy that this is a series, and how great is that?! There are hardly any contemporary books that are a series, they mostly stand by thereself. This is also a big pro.

All these compliments make this book a perfect read for me. At first it’s contemporary, it’s a romantic one and it takes place in L.A., the city I’m still dreaming of to visit one day. It is no wonder I’m giving Did I Mention I Love You five stars 😉

2 thoughts on “Did I Mention I Love You? by Estelle Maskame

Leave a Reply

