My Kind Of Crazy by Robin Reul

IMG_20160215_161143Title: My Kind Of Crazy
Author: Robin Reul
Genre: Young Adult/Romance
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Publication: April 5th 2016
Pages: 336

I received an eARC from the publisher through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

5 sterren

Despite the best of intentions, seventeen-year old, wisecracking Hank Kirby can’t quite seem to catch a break. It’s not that he means to screw things up all the time, it just happens. A lot. Case in point: his attempt to ask out the girl he likes literally goes up in flames when he spells “Prom” in sparklers on her lawn…and nearly burns down her house.

As if that wasn’t bad enough, Peyton Breedlove, a brooding loner and budding pyromaniac, witnesses the whole thing. Much to Hank’s dismay, Peyton takes an interest in him—and his “work.” The two are thrust into an unusual friendship, but their boundaries are tested when Hank learns that Peyton is hiding some dark secrets, secrets that may change everything he thought he knew about Peyton.


“Love you like a house on fire.”

I wished for this book on Netgalley because the synopsis got to me. It seemed a playful read and also very unique. So I started reading and it turned out this book blew me away.

First of all; I really love Hank, the main character. He is a sweet but maybe a bit of a crazy guy. Besides, he is quite witty. His hilarity really was the best thing in the book. He didn’t just make the usual jokes, but also a lot of self-mockery ones that really made me laugh. His personality was very pleasant.

“Nice,” I tell him, but I can’t think about baseball right now. The only balls I can concentrate on are my own as I wonder how I’m going to grow a pair and deal with this mess.

There also was this thing about Peyton, she was described as a very mysterious girl and all the actions around that were very interesting. There is a good paced way how we find out what the secrets of Peyton are, while it also slowly becomes clear why she is acting like that and why she does that.

“Sometimes, to help make sense of things, we tell ourselves stories and we convince ourselves that they’re true, but that doesn’t mean they really are.”

This book is dazzling and serious. There are some serious subjects that take place, like divorce, a car accident, alcohol problems and mental illness. Hank hilarity is regularly interspersed with the serious issues and this can really touch you. It makes you think how close laughter and crying stand together.

“Everything beautiful can be ugly, and everything ugly can be beautiful.”

In addition, I find it very neat how Robin makes the serious matters negotiable. She knows how to give that turn so that it isn’t a depressing story, but a very open one. I think the jokes in this book truly contribute to that.

“I take that as a compliment. These are real bands. They made real music that endured. There isn’t much today that you’ll hear twenty of thirty years from now except as a pop culture joke.”

“So I guess it’s safe to say you’re not a Directioner?”

My Kind Of Crazy was very different, but I mean that in an absolute positive way. The main characters were sometimes, yes, a little weird. But that is exactly why the book is called My Kind of Crazy, right? The twist to the story makes this is a very nice read and that is why I give it five stars!

3 thoughts on “My Kind Of Crazy by Robin Reul

Leave a Reply

