How Willa Got Her Groove Back by Emily McKay

12716586_938616546221305_1280154004_nTitle: How Willa Got Her Groove Back
Author: Emily McKay
Series: CreAtive Hearts #2
Genre: Contemporary/Young Adult/Romance
Publisher: Entangled: Crush
Publication: February 22th 2016
Pages: 240

I received an eARC from the publisher through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

5 sterren

When Willa Schofer’s father comes home from a business trip with an über-famous new fiancée, Willa’s senior year blows up in paparazzi-fueled flames. Overnight, she has a new house, a new car, and a new soon-to-be stepbrother—the unbelievably hot, unbelievably arrogant, Finn McCain. Thank god he’s constantly pushing her buttons, or she might do something irresponsible. Like fall for the jerk.

Just when Willa’s decided to avoid him for, oh, ever, Finn lands in the center of her senior project team. Seriously—how hard is it to shake a guy? At least her work on the project snagged the attention of the (second) hottest guy in school. He might only be into her because of her famous stepmom, and he’s not quite as exciting as a certain annoying housemate, but at least she’s allowed to crush on the guy.


“When you’re lucky enough to catch lightning in a bottle, you put the lid on as fast as you can.”

I found this book on Netgalley (obviously) and it got me instantly. Why? The synopsis just screamed drama and I actually really love drama. I requested the book and I hoped for the best: I got the book!

I well-estimated  this book because gosh what a drama! Everything was a big deal in a positive way, not annoying but incredibly fun to read. Because what is more fun than falling in love with your stepbrother? Exactly, I don’t know too…

I think the change of the main characters is done very nice. You’re sure they like each other, because nothing is better than a story with two main characters who are crushing on each other. Otherwise you have to endlessly fanatasize if the feeling is mutual because you only know how one person feels.

I find it hilarious that they hate each other but at the same time they’re awfully in love and they really don’t want to admit it. Willa keeps telling us over and over again that she wants nothing to do with Finn, but in the meantime she thinks about him like four times on a page. That she doesn’t like Damien (her school crush) as much as she used to and that she keeps comparing him to Finn, I find that really funny.

This also brings me to Finn, because oh my damn, he’s a great protagonist. Not only is he awfully hot (exactly like the synopsis tells us) he also has a lot of confidence. The kind of confidence that isn’t the negative one, no, he’s just incredibly cute when he does those things for Willa. Aaaah *sighs and swoons*

As last (but not least): You shouldn’t think that this book is only about the feelings of Willa and Finn (well for the most of the time it does), but the main reason of this story has to the engagement, oh the drama (and I really mean lots of it!)

Eventually I really enjoyed this book, even when I think the end is just really stupid. I prefer the cliché endings and well, that wasn’t really the case here. Furthermore, I also found out that this book is one of three which I find quite annoying, I would have preferred this as one book with just a really nice ending. Despite this hiccups, I give How Willa Got Her Groove Back five beautiful stars!

2 thoughts on “How Willa Got Her Groove Back by Emily McKay

Leave a Reply

